Life-loggers not life-bloggers

We are life-loggers not life-bloggers. Logging my life into a private, secure e-memory sounds like a great idea to me. In contrast, I have absolutely no interest in sharing the complete details of my life with the world in a blog. I want to share a few of my e-memories with some of my friends and family, and even fewer memories with the world. My blogging will be extremely selective.

 

I view my e-memory as an intimate, private extension of my brain. Not that e-memory functions like human memory. It does not. But in terms of privacy and ownership, it deserves similar treatment. My hope is that society and law will come to recognize it as such. There is attorney-client privilege, and surely my e-memory deserves at least as much privilege.

Originally posted at the Total Recall blog

Leave a Reply

